Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Waiting On Wednesday [@maureenjohnson @epicreads @KatherineTegen @HarperTeen]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:


TRULY DEVIOUS (#1) by Maureen Johnson

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.


published January 16th by Katherine Tegen Books

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

The first reason is that it has been too, too long since I have read a new novel written by Maureen Johnson (admittedly, that is mainly my fault) and I am very ready to read one.

Second? I love murder mysteries and have discoverer that they can be really fun when set in fancy, somehow-weirdly-special-but-also-odd boarding schools. The way things are a 'game' at Ellingham Academy reminds me of the way thins were in another novel (which I can't remember the title of, but can remember scenes from . . . ?) and Sanctuary Bay a bit.

I really love Maureen Johnson's writing and humor and her characters and so am eager to discover the world of Truly Devious and  meet Stevie Bell!


That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...