Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Books of 2017


This week's Ten:
Top 10 11 Books of 2017
(+ 1 2016 Book)


The 2016 books is one I read at the end of 2016, but I didn't wan it to miss out on both the 2016 and 2017 lists, so I'm including it anyway.. Then, I have eleven 2017 books not ten because I just couldn't knock one off the list!



This Body Won't Break (#1) by Lea McKee
(This Body Won't Break is currently free for Kindle)

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

Girls Made of Snow & Glass by Melissa Bashardousht

 Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown

A List of Cages by Robin Roe

Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson

The Girl Who Saved Christmas (Christmas #2) by Matt Haig

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Artemis by Andy Weir

Aftercare Instructions by Bonnie Pipkin


the 2016 Book:


The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon




Please leave a comment and let me know your top books of 2017 - and/or any recommendations you have based on my picks!

Friday, December 8, 2017

Book Trailer Friday [@Sara__Holland @epicreads @harperteen]

This week the trailer I chose is for Everless (#1) by Sara Holland:


about Everless:

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.




January 02, 2018 // HarperTeen // 336 pages // Goodreads // Book Depository // Amazon

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Berserker ~ Emmy Laybourne (earc) review [@EmmyLaybourne @FeiwelFriends @FierceReads]

Berserker (#1)
Feiwel & Friends
October 10, 2017
352 pages
add to Goodreads/buy form Book Depository/or Amazon


Are Hanne's powers a gift from the old Norse gods, or a curse?

Her brother Stieg swears their powers are a gift from the old gods, but Hanne Hemstad knows she is truly cursed. It's not Stieg's fault that their father is dead, their mother has left, and their brother Knut has been accused of a crime he didn't commit.

No, the fault lies with Hanne and her inability to control her murderous "gift"--she is a Berserker. When someone she loves is threatened, she flies into a killing state. The siblings must leave Norway for the American frontier or risk being brought to justice.

Aided by a young cowboy who agrees to be their guide, Hanne and her siblings use their powers to survive the perilous trail, where blizzards, wild animals, and vicious bounty hunters await.

Will they be able to reach their uncle, the one man Hanne believes may be able to teach her how to control her drive to kill? With Berserker, Emmy Laybourne, the author of Monument 14, presents her vision of an American west studded with Viking glory.

Emmy Laybourne's Berserker does a great job blending the story of a family immigrating to America in the 19th century. This was one of the first books I have read that featured any kind of Norse mythology and I liked that it wasn't so much about gods and goddesses but about what they might have given to people, to mortals.

How we are introduced to Hanne and learn of her 'gifts' was nicely done. We are able to see what she can do and to see her relationships with her family before we get the facts. I liked her being someone you probably already connected with before you learn how she can kill.

The danger the siblings face and how it was compounded by Hanne's gifts added tension to the read ad made it more exciting. It was not so simple as them leaving Norway, finding somewhere to stat a new life and that being that. As they tried to adjust to a new land and life, come to terms with what had happened and who they were, we really did learn a lot about the characters.

The bleaker things became, the more they had to use their abilities but also the more of a threat using those abilities might pose.  Berserker really does a fantastic job with its sibling relationships, with four young people coming to a brand new country and to a whole new life, and forcing its characters to deal with both seemingly magical abilities and very human emotions.

Emmy Laybourne's Monument 14 book and series were fun and fast paced, but her new novel delves more into the characters lives and emotions and feels a bit more. . . grown up, maybe. Berserker is  a creative, sometimes tension filled read that expertly combines Norse mythology, ancient abilities and the human lives of those affect.







digital review copy received from publisher, via NetGalley

Waiting On Wednesday [@juliathrillers @randomhouse]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:



PAPER GHOSTS by Julia Heaberlin

A gripping thriller about a man who may or may not have dementia—and who may or may not be a serial killer—from a master of twists and turns, in the tradition of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn

An obsessive young woman has been waiting half her life—since she was twelve years old—for this moment. She has planned. Researched. Trained. Imagined every scenario. Now she is almost certain the man who kidnapped and murdered her sister sits in the passenger seat beside her.

Carl Louis Feldman is a documentary photographer. The young woman claims to be his long-lost daughter. He doesn’t believe her. He claims no memory of murdering girls across Texas, in a string of places where he shot eerie pictures. She doesn’t believe him.

Determined to find the truth, she lures him out of a halfway house and proposes a dangerous idea: a ten-day road trip, just the two of them, to examine cold cases linked to his haunting photographs.

Is he a liar or a broken old man? Is he a pathological con artist? Or is she? Julia Heaberlin once again swerves the serial killer genre in a new direction. With taut, captivating prose, Heaberlin deftly explores the ghosts that live in our minds—and the ones that stare back from photographs. You won’t see the final, terrifying twist spinning your way until the very last mile.



published May 15th by Ballantine Books

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

Is he a liar or a broken old man? Is he a pathological con artist? Or is she?

I love mysteries where, from the beginning, you cannot really be sure of anything - even if the 'bad guy' is really a bad guy after all. Is it the character we are supposed to sympathize with who is really the truly bad one - even worse than whomever is set up as the 'bad guy'? Thrillers like this can take readers on a confusing, surprising, shocking, emotional but (hopefully) ultimately incredibly rewarding ride.

I really look forward to reading Paper Ghosts and discovering both his secrets and hers . . . and maybe even some of the truth, too.



That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...