Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Reads


This week's Ten:
10 Summer or Beach Reads
(8 Fiction & 2 Nonfiction)

The Witch of Painted Sorrows (Daughters of La Lune #1) by M.J. Rose
Goodreads // review



The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine
Goodreads // review


At the Water's Edge by Sara Gruen
Goodreads // review


Between You and Me by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus
Goodreads // review


With Malice by Eileen Cook
Goodreads // review

A Touch of Stardust by Kate Alcott
Goodreads // review


Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris
Goodreads


Love, Lucy by April Lindner
Goodreads // review


Kick Kennedy: The Charmed Life and Tragic Death of the Favorite Kennedy Daughter by Barbara Leaming
Goodreads


Becoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American Family by Amy Ellis Nutt
Goodreads







Please leave a comment and let me know what books you're planning to read this summer! (Or what you think are great summertime reads.)

Monday, May 22, 2017

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter ~ Scaachi Koul (earc) review [@picadorbooks @Scaachi]

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter: Essays
Picador
May 02, 2017
256 pages
add to Goodreads/buy from Book Depository/or Amazon

For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising star, Scaachi Koul.

In One Day We ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school, to a shopping trip gone horribly awry, to dealing with internet trolls, to feeling out of place at an Indian wedding (as an Indian woman), to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. Where strict gender rules bind in both Western and Indian cultures, forcing her to confront questions about gender dynamics, racial tensions, ethnic stereotypes and her father s creeping mortality all as she tries to find her feet in the world.

With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a bright new literary voice emerges."

I owe this book's cover and title a thank you. I don't read very much nonfiction that isn't historical  biography or memoir nor do I read many books of essays but because of the title and cover, I read this one - and really enjoyed it.

Through her essays, Scaachi Koul (a writer I was not previously familiar with) covers a lot of pertinent, current topics and issues. It is all through stories of her life: growing up, college, work, family, family vacations, clothes shopping, etc. Each essay finds a way to not  only give you a glimpse into her life, into who she is and how she's experienced the world, but to also highlight some 'issue,' all while being relevant to nearly everyone, in one way or another. Oh, and it is incredibly funny nearly the whole while.

From body image (weight, hair) to racism and sexism to rape culture to xenophobia to talking about yoga (versus, well, doing it), One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter covers tackles a lot of those hot button issues through how they've played a part in Koul's life but also how the affect us all. Her life, her story includes immigrant parents, being Indian, being a woman but none of that has to be true for the book to be relevant (and entertaining) to you. My grandmother lived her whole life in the Southern United States but several thing Koul's mother did or said, I could absolutely hear her saying or doing. (Especially the part around bust measurements.)

If you already read Scaachi Koul's BuzzFeed articles you likely know her writing - including about her father and his emails which are fantastic - but if not, do yourself a favor and pick up One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter.




Scaachi Koul's website & BuzzFeed articles






digital copy received for review from publisher, via NetGalley

Friday, May 19, 2017

Book Trailer Friday [@DisneyHyperion @DisneyChannel @descendants @MelissadelaCruz]

The third book in the Descendants prequel series by Melissa de la Cruz, Rise of the Isle of the Lost will be out May 23rd and The Descendants 2 will premiere July 21st on Disney Channel (in the US and Canada). So you have plenty of time to read the book (or books) before the show starts!

Here is the EW.com piece will what you need to know about the upcoming sequel: "Rise of the Isle of the Lost trailer introduces Uma before Descendants 2"

And here is the trailer for Rise of the Isle of the Lost:


Series on Goodreads // Amazon



Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday [@DisneyHyperion @@kirstenhubbard[

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:



RACE THE NIGHT by Kirsten Hubbard

"Without you, there'd be no hope for the world. Because you are the whole world."

That's what Teacher says, and twelve-year-old Eider knows she's right. The world ended long ago, and the desert ranch is the only thing left. Still, Eider's thoughts keep wandering Beyond the fence. Beyond the pleated earth and scraggly brush and tedious daily lessons. Eider can't help wishing for something more-like the stories in the fairytale book she hides in the storage room. Like the secret papers she collects from the world Before. Like her little sister who never really existed.

When Teacher announces a new kind of lesson, Eider and the other kids are confused. Teacher says she needs to test their specialness-the reason they were saved from the end of the world. But seeing in the dark? Reading minds? As the kids struggle to complete Teacher's challenges, they also start to ask questions. Questions about their life on the desert ranch, about Before and Beyond, about everything Teacher has told them. But the thing about questions-they can be dangerous.

This moving novel-equal parts hope and heartbreak-traces one girl's journey for truth and meaning, from the smallest slip of paper to the deepest understanding of family. The world may have ended for the kids of the desert ranch . . . but that's only the beginning.
Praise for Watch the Sky:

"Strong characters drive the carefully crafted novel. . . Hubbard's sparse, elegant prose captures the rural landscape's desolate beauty as well as its dangers and palpably expresses the family's escalating tensions. . . [An] atmospheric, ultimately hopeful novel."
-School Library Journal, starred review

"Hubbard writes fluently and accessibly. . . An absorbing tale."
-Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Haunting, tense, and moving. . . Caleb's efforts to safeguard himself and his family will stay with readers."
-Publishers Weekly

"Hubbard gets Jory's emotions just right. . . The pacing moves smoothly, balancing the everyday with the impending Crisis, and the ending ties up every loose thread. An excellent choice for discussion."
-Booklist

"The conclusion is a satisfying one. . . Timely."
-VOYA

published November 8th by Disney Hyperion

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

I really, really enjoyed Kirsten Hubbard's Watch the Sky (review) and want to read another Middle Grade novel from her. (I enjoyed Like Mandarin and Wanderlovetoo but they're YA reada, not an MG ones.)

I love the idea of this book - that the world's ended, but not quite, Teacher and Eider and their questions that, it seems, shouldn't be asked. I am curious to see what Eider's world is like, if we find out how it got that way and what she's able to find from Before - and what is Beyond.

Race the Night sounds like a magical, special read and I look forward to meeting the characters and finding out about their lives and world.


That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...