Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Waiting On Wednesday [@demetrabrodsky @torteen]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:

DIVE SMACK by Demetra Brodsky
Theo Mackey only remembers one thing for certain about the fire that destroyed his home: he lit the match.

Sure, it was an accident. But the blaze killed his mom and set his dad on a path to self-destruction. Everything else about that fateful night is full of gaping holes in Theo’s mind, for good reason. Maybe it’s better that way. As captain of the Ellis Hollow Diving Team, with straight A's and solid friends, he's only one semester away from securing a scholarship, and leaving his past behind.

But when a family history project gets assigned at school, new memories come rushing to the surface, memories that make him question what he really knows about his family, the night of the fire, and if he can trust anyone—including himself.

published June 19th by Tor Teen

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


To start with: that title has me curious enough that I would probably want to read it even if the book's description was not also really making me want to read this.

I tend to really enjoy novels where the characters are experiencing some sort of memory problems, especially when those missing (or compromised or repressed) memories are of some sort of tragic event that may or may not be the character's fault.  It can make for a great read when you don't know whether or not to trust the character (and, maybe, neither do they).

I'm curious what Theo's dad's path to self destruction entails and intrigued by the fact that its' set as Theo's about to graduate, leave town.

That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

This week's Ten:
10 Books on my Spring TBR List

The Complication (The Program #6) by Suzanne Young
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Suitors and Sabotage by Cindy Anstey
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazo

Paper Ghosts by Julia Heaberlin

Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett

Girl Made of Stars by Ashley Herring Blake

The Diminished (#1) by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson

Please leave a comment and let me know what books are your top Spring TBR picks -maybe I'll find some I don't know, yet, that I want to read!

Friday, March 9, 2018

Book Trailer Friday [@tomi_adeyemi @fiercereads]

The trailer this week is for Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) because it is a book I very much want to read. It came out this past Tuesday, the 6th and here is the trailer:

about Children of Blood and Bone:

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

March 06, 2018 // Henry Holt Books for Young Readers // 525 pages // Goodreads // Book Depository // Amazon

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Waiting On Wednesday [@somiayadaud @Flatironbooks]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:

MIRAGE (#1) by Somaiya Daud

In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry like the old-world poems she adores; she dreams of receiving a sign from Dihya that one day, she, too, will have adventure, and travel beyond her isolated moon.

But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped by the regime and taken in secret to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double, someone to appear in public as Maram, ready to die in her place.

As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty—and her time with the princess’ fiancé, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection...because one wrong move could lead to her death.

published August 26th by Flatiron Books

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


It's in space and there are royals which has so many possibilities right there. Then our main character is a girl who doesn't fit in and is the evil princess' doppelganger? This book sounds like so much fun (and drama and emotion and awesomeness).!

Oh, but I want to read this one and discover Dihya and about the Vathek empire and meet Amani and find out what happens to her.

You can preview  Mirage on Entertainment Weekly's website, here.

That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...