Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday [@DelacortePress @juliebux]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:



WHAT TO SAY NEXT by Julie Buxbaum
From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

published July 11th by Delacorte Press

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

I love when something unexpected brings two characters together - and here I know there will be that added layer that the death of Kit's father precipitated everything. I am curious to see how their relationship develops, how the honesty works, their (and everyone else's) reaction to thier newfound friendship, and what it is about he truth of the accident that might end it all.

There's also the fact that David has been counting the number of days he's been in the high school. For whatever reason, I really love that he knows he's been attending Mapleview High for 622 days.

(And the cover is very cute.)


That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...