Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday [@LanaPopovicLit @epicreads @KatherineTegen @KTegenBooks]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:



WICKED LIKE A WILDFLOWER (Hibiscus Daughter #1)  by Lana Popović

“Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game

“Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love.

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.



published August 15th by Katherine Tegen Books

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

I love books about sisters, maybe especially twin sisters; I love books about secret magic, maybe especially secret family magic*. That this book combines all of that with a sense of danger and a possible threat to the sisters (after a real threat to their mother) has me all the more excited to read it.

(*The magic in Mim and her mother in The Secret of a Heart Note was a great start to that book but this sounds darker and less sweet so I'm equally curious to read about it!)

Plus, I adore the title and series name, both.

All of the elements of what this book sounds like it's about, the cover, the title, it all makes me really eager to read Wicked Like a Wildflower!



That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...