Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday [@randomhousekids @MelissaGorzela]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:

ARROWS by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.


published January 5th by Delacorte Press

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


Why?

The 'modern Cupid story,' is definitely what caught my attention with this one (at least, at first). I enjoy reading novels inspired or influenced by classic mythology stories and/or characters. I love seeing those ancient characters, the mythological beings and their stories, brought into the modern day, with some original characters.

I am extra interested in this one, though, because even with the mythological elements removed from the description, I want to read about Karma and her ill-fated love life.

Can't wait to see how it all comes together!

(Plus, the cover's cute.)



That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...