Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Alive ~ Scott Sigler (earc) review [@scottsigler @DelReySpectra @randomhousekids]

Alive (The Generations Trilogy #1)
Del Rey
July 14, 2015
368 pages
add to Goodreads/buy from Book Depository/or Amazon


From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

Alive was full of twists turns and the unexpected. Going into ti, I did not know what was going to happen - or even what I expected to happen - and I am so happy about that not knowing. From the beginning when our character first wakes up - not knowing who or where she is - and has to free herself, this is a book that pulls you right in. As she describes where she is and her constraints and works to remove them, we get a great sense of who she is.

It is a frightening awakening: the confinement, all of the not knowing, but still she endeavors to escape.

I like that we get a sense of who this young woman is before she even seems to know who she is.

Finding out the character of the characters through their current situation. how they handle the events and each other, through the choices they make and what they do or don't do, works especially well here. We stay in the present, but also wonder about their pasts - and futures.

Alive is absolutely full of surprises. I liked that we don't know when or where Alive's present is - or when the past that the characters remember is, either. It heightens the air of mystery, of suspense around the whole story. It also removes that level of comfort you have, as a reader, with even most sci-fi tales. Without that recognizable basis for the characters lives and locations, you really aren't able to guess what's to come, know what's normal or what's expected.

The author does a great job dealing with the characters ages, how they think and what they expect - even if they aren't sure why they expect it. We're never left to question how someone could know or not know something, unless they or another character are questioning it for us.

I really enjoyed how new information or knowledge was unveiled or discovered. For both the characters and for readers. Do everything you can to read Alive sans spoilers - and enjoy the thrilling ride the book takes you on.





digital review copy received, via NetGalley, thanks to the publisher

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...