Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

Sorry if anyone saw this when my 'ctrl' + the wrong key posted it too soon earlier...hopefully I have it right now...after some coding errors ;)

Banished by Sophie Littlefield (October 12, 2010)

How amazing is it that all of these books are coming out right around my birthday? (Hunger, Nightshade, and now this one!)


There isn’t much worth living for in Gypsum, Missouri—or Trashtown, as the rich kids call the run-down neighborhood where sixteen-year-old Hailey Tarbell lives. Hailey figures she’ll never belong—not with the popular kids at school, not with the rejects, not even with her cruel, sickly grandmother, who deals drugs out of their basement. Hailey never knew her dead mother, and she has no idea who her father was, but at least she has her four-year-old foster brother, Chub. Once she turns eighteen, Hailey plans to take Chub far from Gypsum and start a new life where no one can find them.

But when a classmate is injured in gym class, Hailey discovers a gift for healing that she never knew she possessed—and that she cannot ignore. Not only can she heal, she can bring the dying back to life. Confused by her powers, Hailey searches for answers but finds only more questions, until a mysterious visitor shows up at Gram’s house, claiming to be Hailey’s aunt Prairie.

There are people who will stop at nothing to keep Hailey in Trashtown, living out a legacy of despair and suffering. But when Prairie saves both Hailey and Chub from armed attackers who invade Gram’s house in the middle of the night, Hailey must decide where to place her trust. Will Prairie’s past, and the long-buried secret that caused her to leave Gypsum years earlier, ruin them all? Because as Hailey will soon find out, their power to heal is just the beginning.

This gripping novel from thriller writer Sophie Littlefield blazes a trail from small-town Missouri to the big city as Hailey battles an evil greater than she ever imagined, while discovering strengths she never knew she had. -Summary from Amazon since the coding ate the shorter one I had from the author website & Goodreads

Just from that it seems like a little bit of Playing with Fire meets Charmed meets Stacey Jay's Megan Berry series (in other words, a bunch of awesomeness all mashed up for a new story of amazingness).

Sophie Littlefield has an adult crime fiction series Bad Day for Sorry and Bad Day For Pretty (coming out next month) already. It's about a fifty-year-old woman who, after dealing with her own abusive husband (summary says she 'dispatched' him 'with a wrench' ;)), now helps other woman deal with theirs all the while trying to manage her sewing shop and her life.

The paperback of the first book is out on the 25th & the hardcover of the second is out June 8 (also a great book release day). I'm getting the first one from maybe the library as soon as I finish one or two of the books I already have, but the first bit's up on Google Books--you should look at it!(I think it works for fans of Stephanie Bond, Janet Evanovich, or maybe Janet E Olson's Tattoo Shop mystery books--though I haven't actually read much of it yet.)


Back to Banished, though, as that is my WoW book: There is an excerpt on the YA side of Sophie Littlefield's site, here so you can read more about it.

2 comments:

  1. I haven't seen this before. I'm glad I was introduced to it through your blog. I added it to my wish list.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Well hopefully I started a trend and now lots of people will know about it and are wanting it!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...